jump to navigation

The Instant Stress Buster November 5, 2009

Posted by ozsomesuccess in Business Success, Law of Attraction.
Tags: , ,
trackback

(Excerpt from forthcoming book, “And God Said, Let There Be Money”)

Here’s a variation on “Observing Ego” that I invented myself, a Little Technique with Big Results, that I call “The Instant Stress Buster.”

I have based this on my own definition of what Stress really is:

Stress is nothing more than a conflict between what  you want, and your perceived ability to get it – emphasis on perceived.

This is huge, because whatever it is you perceive to be standing in your way of getting what you want, may not be the real enemy at all.

So whenever you are feeling stressed about something, ask yourself these questions:

“What do I want right now, in this moment?”

“What do I perceive is my ability to get it – high, medium, or low?”

Usually, we ask ourselves to evaluate things on a basis of “low, medium, or high.” But in this case, I want you to break out of your default reaction by reversing this order, asking “high, medium, or low.” Why? Because if you determine, right away, that your ability to get what you want is high, then you don’t have much standing in your way – ergo, you can easily let go of any stress you feel around the situation.

If, on the other hand, you judge your perceived ability to get what you want is medium or low, you can then set your brain to working on how you can shift the odds in your favor.

This strategy does a couple of things: it keeps you Present-minded, and it keeps you focused upon what you want, rather than upon what you don’t want, or upon blaming other people. When we get to Chapter 5 where I discuss the Law of Attraction, you will see how important it is to keep your focus upon what you want, because if you focus upon what you don’t want, you’ll only get more of the same.

Let’s look at a couple of simple examples, to show you how this works.

Let’s say you’re in the car, and you suddenly start to feel hungry. It’s an unpleasant feeling, and you feel stress about it because you don’t have anything with you that you could munch on, right now, that would take the edge off. You ask yourself: “What do I want right now, in this moment?” And you answer, “I want my salad with my own homemade dressing, with a topping of fajita steak strips.” (Or whatever suits your fancy.) Then you ask yourself, “What is my perceived ability to get this – high, medium or low?” You decide, “Medium – because I can’t get it right now, but when I get home in 20 minutes, I can do something about it.”And so you are able to reduce your feeling of stress, because you know you won’t have to wait long.

Or how about this: You are getting ready to go out of your house to a meeting . . . and you can’t find your glasses for the life of you. You’re scrambling around the house, frantically trying to find them and remember where you last left them, and of course your stress level shoots way up. This is the sort of thing that drives you crazy, and you’re mad at yourself too, for doing something so stupid.

So you pull out the questions: “What do I want, right now, in this moment?” The answer comes: “I want my glasses – no, wait – what I really want is to have perfect eyesight, so I don’t even need glasses anymore!” This technique enables you to be perfectly honest with yourself, because sometimes you find that you have a deeper desire beyond the immediate problem you are trying to solve.

And then: “What is my perceived ability to get it?” And you answer: “At this moment, low. But in the future, medium-to-high, depending upon what an ophthalmologist says about giving me the surgery. In the meantime, can I get by without the glasses for just a few hours? And resume the search when I’m not so wound up?” You decide that doing without your glasses for awhile won’t constitute the end of the world . . . and your stress level drops again. You walk out the door with aplomb, because you realize it’s more important that when you get to your meeting, you give the impression of being cool, confident, and in control, not disorganized, frazzled, and unreliable. You have also just set in motion a “vibration” that will ultimately bring you what you really want – a pair of fully functional eyes.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

