jump to navigation

No Gurus Here! My Latest Lunch Date June 25, 2009

Posted by ozsomesuccess in Business Success, Law of Attraction.
Tags: ,
trackback

A man contacted me at one of the online “personals” sites I subscribe to. After corresponding for a week or two, we decided to take the next step and meet face to face.

A first-generation American born of Russian parents, he was very, very different from the kind of men who usually express an interest in me. Very intelligent, but in a hands-on, street-smart sort of way, having learned how to turn his ADD from a liability into an asset. Turns out he’s a VP for a large bank, handing corporate investments for them – AND he’s also a real estate investor, supervising a construction crew for rehabs.

After he told me a bit about some of the projects he’s done, and the ones he has active now, I asked him a very important question: “How did you learn to do real estate investing?”

His Answer? “I just did it.”

“Nobody taught you?’ I asked. “Nope, I flipped my first property when I was still in college.” (Or did he say high school?)

“You didn’t learn from your parents?” “No, they are both lawyers.”

“You didn’t take any trainings from people like Robert Allen, or Ron LeGrand?” “I don’t know who they are!”

I explained that Robert Allen is the author of Nothing Down. He’d never even heard of it, yet he’s been doing this for 15 years! He scornfully scoffed at those late-nite TV commercials those gurus put out – “All they want is to take your $5,000. They’re not really going to help you.”

That’s not to say he hadn’t gotten burned on a couple of his deals. But he learned from his mistakes. He said, “Now, whenever I try something new, I expect to fail three times before I start getting good at it.”

THIS is a guy who exhibits a lot of the qualities I talk about in my book, about how to be successful in life.

  • Just DO it. Don’t second-guess, don’t doubt.
  • Be resilient.
  • Don’t whine when somebody else gets the better of you. When you fall off the horse, dust yourself off and get back on again.
  • “Fail Forward Fast” – Be willing to do something badly, in order to get good at it faster.
  • Make Decisions and Take Action quickly.

How different from my ex-husband, who attempted to get into “businesses” that were totally incongruent with his background, who acted like the perpetual victim, and floundered around, wasting all his time in “getting ready to get ready!”

Meeting him was also an indicator that I’m finally moving in the right direction. In my book, I write about how I was terrified of losing my inheritance because I didn’t believe I could actually make that kind of money on my own. And by the Law of Attraction – you don’t attract what you want, you attract what you are – I ended up attracting someone who believed in his earning capacity even less than I did! He didn’t think he had it in him, to come up with a Million Dollar Idea, and so thought his only hope was to hitch his wagon to somebody else’s turnkey “system.”

I had to start believing I could make a 6- or even 7-figure income, before I would attract a man who can do the same – and today, such a man showed up!

Now, I don’t know if this is going to turn into anything romantic. We’re still in the “testing the waters” stage. But it was refreshing to know that I could trust him to solve problems on his own, and not cluelessly bring me problems and somehow expect ME to have all the answers. Some important lessons emerged from just this first date – lessons YOU can now use.

BTW, the title of my book, “Don’t Start a Business without ME!” is going to change to something that captures the zeitgeist a little better: “And God Said, Let There Be Money.” Stay tuned for further developments. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

